Diversity Summit Planning Site
Friday, October 20, 2017
Chair:  Laura Lunstrum Trevino
lhall@utep.edu

915 833-5464
Co-Chairs:  Fernando Jimenez-Arevalo
frjimenezarevalo@utep.edu
Edward Ramirez eramirez29@utep.edu

 

Agenda
Budget
Speakers
Hotel Accomodations
Conference Rooms
Transportation
Food
Mailing List
Website
Prior Summit Documents
Things To Do

CURRENT ACTION ITEMS: Updated September 20, 2017

Choose Dinner & Reception Location (Union)

Create Registration site  (complete) http://www.utep.edu/business/accounting-and-information-systems/research/DiversitySummitPlanning.html


Connect UTEP and Ned Steele for press announcements  Follow up on 50th anniversary tie-in (Marie Eugenia) 

Send out panel invitations (complete)
Finalize Agenda (in progress)

Fill out hotel guest forms (Ale Garcia) 
Forms sent to Ed Ramirez 8/30/2017
   

Theme

Access and Opportunity in Hispanic Education:  Views from the Border 
             

Our Mission

The PhD Projectís Committee on Hispanic Excellence in Business (CHE), a Commitment to Action under the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics, is a nationwide initiative to address the faltering educational attainment for Hispanic Americans with a focus on increasing diversity in business. The Committee is tasked with mobilizing the 316 Hispanic American business faculty to serve as role models and mentors for Hispanic-American undergraduates and engage with Hispanic-American students and groups across campuses nationwide. The objective is to formalize mentoring best practices, encourage not only completion of undergraduate programs, but also the pursuit of graduate and doctorate degrees.

In executing the mission of the Committee on Hispanic Excellence in Business, we uncovered drastic regional differences in awareness of challenges and opportunities that stem from the changing demographics, as well as preparedness and resources. 

To address these differences, The Southwest Summit on Diversifying Business by Enhancing Hispanic-American Educational Attainment was born. The objective of the Summit is three-fold. First and foremost, the Summit is intended to raise awareness of the issue and economic implications of the state of Latino educational attainment for key stakeholders. Second, the Summit is intended as an opportunity for universities, employers, and external but relevant organizations to showcase resources available to Hispanic-American undergraduates, graduate students and faculty. Finally, the Summit is intended as an idea sharing and problem solving platform. 

Timeline
April, 2017
Complete Mailing List
Begin Panel construction

May, 2017
Invite panel members

June, 2017
Coordinate handouts, gifts, materials

July, 2017
Begin Media announcements w/Ned Steele

August 2017 
 Mass Mailing - Save the Date

September 2017
Check and recheck details

Thursday, October 19th 
6:00 p.m. - Conference Kickoff Reception and Dinner

Friday, October 20th
Conference

Participating Schools

Arizona State University
Thunderbird School of Global Management Management
University of Arizona
University of Phoenix
New Mexico Highlands University
New Mexico State University
Abilene Christian University
Austin Community College
Baylor University
Houston Baptist University
Huston-Tillotson University
Lamar University
LeTourneau University
Prairie View A&M University
Rice University
Sam Houston State University
Southern Methodist University
Southwestern University
St.  Mary's University
St. Edward's University
Tarleton State University
Texas A&M International University
Texas A&M University Commerce
Texas A&M University -Kingsville
Texas A&M-Central Texas
Texas Southern University
Texas State University
Texas State University (fall 2016)
Texas State University-San Marcos
Texas Tech University
Texas Wesleyan University
Texas Woman's University 
University of Houston
University of Houston-Clear Lake
University of Houston-Downtown
University of Houston-Victoria
University of North Texas
University of St. Thomas-Houston
University of Texas at Arlington
University of Texas at Austin
University of Texas at Dallas
University of Texas at El Paso
University of Texas at San Antonio
University of Texas at Tyler
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
University of the Incarnate Word
West Texas A&M University

 

Important Contacts 

Dean Nachtmann Dean of UTEP COBA nachtmann@utep.edu
Alexandra Garcia Relations agarcia54@utep.edu
Isabel Coronel Assistant to the Dean icoronel@utep.edu
Beto Lopez UTEP VP of Institutional Advancement alopez@utep.edu
Patti Martinez President's Office pdmartinez@utep.edu
Nena Gonzalez External Relations megonzalez10@utep.edu
Tara Perino KPMG tperino@kpmg.com
Maria Zara KPMG mzara@kpmg.com
Myrna Varner KPMG myrnavarner@KPMG.com
Jose Rosa Upper Midwest Diversity Summit (Iowa) Chair 2016 jarosa@iastate.edu
Margarita Lenk Upper Rocky Mountain Diversity Summit (Colorado) Chair 2018 Margarita.Lenk@ColoState.EDU
Laura Trevino Southwest Diversity Summit (El Paso) lhall@utep.edu
Cinthia B. Satornino New England Diversity Summit (Boston) Chair 2017 csatornino@gmail.com
Rebeca Perren Western Diversity Summit (California) Chair 2018 rperren@csusm.edu
Ophelia Dominguez Director Union Services odominguez@utep.edu
Lisa King KPMG Press  lisak@mediaimpact.biz
Azuri Gonzales Chair of UTEP Diversity Committee agonzales@utep.edu
Marie Nene Gonzalez External Communications megonzalez10@utep.edu
 

 

Send mail to lhall@utep.edu with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: September 20, 2017